Beth

“Twas The Night Before Weigh-In”

In Uncategorized on January 10, 2009 at 4:52 am

A Poem of sorts, with my apologies to Clement Clarke Moore, writer of “Twas the Night Before Christmas”.
weewilly
“Twas the night before weigh-in as I sit at my blog,
my thoughts kind of rattled, my brain in a fog,
The points were all counted by the computer with care,
in hopes that tomorrow, a weight-loss would be there.”
My husband and kids were all snug in their beds while visions of IHOP
danced through their heads,
Hunnybunny put on in his tee-shirt, and I my CPAP
we were settling down for our nightly nap.
When out in the yard, there arose such a clatter,
I stumbled from the bed to see what was the matter.
Away to the kitchen, I flew like a flash,
Tore open the pantry and contemplated the hash.
The shine from the fridge was reflected on the floor
Of the kitchen where I had been so many times before.
When, what to my wondering eyes should I see,
But a Strawberry cheese cake, and Baklava looking at me.
With a spatula and dish that was waiting inside
of a pie dish that Hunnybunny unsucessfully tried to hide,
Speedier than guilt, the ingredients they came,
to a mind filled with lust as I called them by name,
Begone Jello, and Half and Half, and crushed pineapple too,
you don’t own me Cool Whip, and cream cheese, you can hit the road, too!
I slammed the refrigerator, too ashamed to be seen
by my onlooking spouse, who was not being mean,
“You know you can do it, ” he smiled back at me,
“And I love you. You still look great to me!”
I sheepishly shuffled my feet towards the door,
And fell in his arms, as we walked off the floor,
and back to our bed, the crises had been averted,
and my conscious was clear, no calories inserted,
I’m glad I can truly now look at that scale,
and know that all my hard work will have a chance to prevail.
So if you find yourself wanting to throw all of it away,
remember: you’re worth it. Worth fighting another day.

Leave a Reply

